The Long Ridge School

Board of Trustees

  • Inquire
  • Visit
  • Apply
  • Tuition & Financial Aid
  • FAQs

The Long Ridge School’s Board of Trustees is responsible for the long-term well-being
of our school, and board members serve as guardians of our mission.

Trustees oversee Long Ridge’s financial operations, and through strategic planning,
they set the course for our future development. Trustees are not involved in the day-to-
day running of school operations, nor are they involved in the admissions process. Each
trustee gives a tremendous amount of their time on behalf of the school and each
considers it an honor to do so. Other than the gratitude of our school community, there
is no form of compensation or tuition reimbursement.

The board is comprised of members chosen from current parents, alumni and alumni
parents, and community members whose expertise is of value to the school. The head
of school serves as a member of the board. Each elected trustee typically serves up to
two three-year terms. Each trustee generally serves on at least two committees (which
meet anywhere from two to five times per year). In addition, there are eight full board

2019-2020 BOARD OF TRUSTEES Officers

Christopher Ferraro - President (2nd Term)

Chris was at LRS for 4 years with his son Leonardo (class of 2020) and his daughter Annabella (class of 2022).

Christen DeSantis - Vice President (1st Term)

Christen DeSantis is the mother of Miles ‘17 and Will ‘21. She co-chaired the Parents Group for three years. She holds an undergraduate degree in Business Administration and Management from North Carolina State University and a M.A. in Human Nutrition from the University of Bridgeport. She opened her business Christen DeSantis Nutrition in 2009. Previously, she worked at Diageo, Equitable Life, and Bain Consulting. She joined the Board in 2015 and serves as the Chair of the Finance Committee and is the Treasurer of the Board.

Guy Bailey - Secretary (3rd Term)

Guy Bailey retired as Assistant Head at St. Luke’s School. He is a former LRS teacher, Business Manager, and was Head of LRS from 1985 to 1989. His son Andrew graduated from LRS in 1996. Guy has served on the CAIS Commission on Membership and Accreditation for many years. He received a B.A. from the University of Rochester and an M.A. from Teachers College, Columbia University, in the Klingenstein Independent School Leadership Program. He joined the Board in 2016 and serves on the Finance and Trusteeship Committees.

Anne Mengden - Treasurer (2nd Term)

Bio to Come.


Aditi Shrikam

Aditi is the mother of Om ‘17 and Dev ‘20. She co-chaired the Auction in 2012 and 2013. Aditi also has been involved as a Room Parent, co-chaired the Annual Fund, and many other activities. A graduate of Ohio Wesleyan College, she spent a post graduate year at Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies in Mumbai, India. Aditi works with Malabar Bay, a family-owned business. She was elected to the Board in 2012 and has served as President for three years.

Hayate Boujid

Bio to Come

Samantha Brown

Bio to Come

Shanti Hagemen

Bio to Come

Sebastien Katch

Bio to Come

William Knauer

Bio to Come

Patty Litzen

Bio to Come

John Ora

John Ora is a seasoned school leader with experience as a teacher, administrator and Head in preschool-grade 12 independent schools. From 2007-2016 he served as the Head of School at the Woodland School in Portola Valley, CA.

John was the Head of Middle School at Princeton Day School in Princeton, NJ; Assistant Head of School and Science Department Chair at Fountain Valley School in Colorado Springs, CO; and Science Department Chair and Physics and Chemistry Teacher at The Community School in Sun Valley, ID.

John has completed doctoral coursework in Educational Leadership at Teachers College, Columbia University; holds a Master of Arts in Educational Administration, Policy and Analysis from Stanford University; teaching credential from the University of Washington; and a BS in Biology from Seattle University.

He has engaged in numerous professional development opportunities and has received a number of awards and achievements, notably a Klingenstein Fellowship from Teachers College, Columbia University.

Marietta Morelli (Faculty Trustee)

Marietta Morelli is the faculty representative for the Board of Trustees and joined the faculty at The Long Ridge School in 2001. She earned her B.S. from the University of CT and her M.Ed from Wheelock College. Prior to teaching, Marietta worked for seven years in the Child Life Play and Preparation Program at Yale New Haven Hospital with pediatric patients.  She is the proud mother of 3 LRS graduates, Alex’02, Nick ’05 and Annie ’09.  After many years of teaching, in September of 2017, Marietta became the new librarian at  LRS.  Marietta is the recipient of the 2010 Stepping Stones Playful Practices in Teaching Award. She serves on the Boards of The Friends of the Ferguson Library.  In 2018 Marietta became a certified school librarian through the Connecticut Alternate Route to Certification for Library Media Specialists.

Carissa Lewis—Head of School

Carissa Lewis is the Head of School and joined The Long Ridge School in 2009 as a 2-3 classroom teacher.  She has a B.A. in Anthropology from State University of New York at Oswego and a M.S. Ed. from Sarah Lawrence College.  In 2014 she became the Science Specialist and in 2016 started the robotics program for the school. Prior to Long Ridge she was the lead nursery teacher for the Early Childhood Center at Memorial United Methodist Church in White Plains, NY.  Carissa is the very proud mom of Jake and Zoe ‘12.


  • Kelly Falco—Assistant Head
  • Amy Pietrasanta—Chief Financial Officer
  • Julian Shettler—Director of Admissions & Marketing
  • Sarah Kwan—Director of Development

Honorary Trustees

Ronald Japha
Ronald Japha is the father of Adam ’98 and Alex ‘02. He serves as liaison to the Long Ridge School and has also served on the Personnel and Facilities Committees. Ron graduated from the University of Virginia and Dickinson School of Law. He has been a partner in the law firm of Gordon & Scalo since 1987. He has been a Trustee since 1996 and an Honorary Trustee since 2004.

Mark Davis
Mark Davis was appointed Head of St. Luke’s School in New Canaan in 2002. He holds a B.A. from Yale University and a M.A.L.S. from Wesleyan University. Mark serves on the Board of the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS). He joined the LRS Board in 2012, serves on the Trusteeship Committee, and was very involved in the strategic planning process.

Parents Group Co-Chairs (non-voting)

  • Kelli Katch (Xavier ’26 & Felix ’22)
  • Lisa Mitchell (Cameron ’24)

Contact us!

Please leave us a note and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Contact us!
Please read the Long Ridge School Reopen Plan. Our Admissions team is now accepting Applications for the 2021-2022 school year.